So long, Simple Justice

Last week, the criminal law blog Simple Justice went quiet. Its author, Scott Greenfield dropped one final post reflecting a bit on the FOUR THOUSAND SEVEN HUNDRED FORTY FOUR posts he published over the last five years. He noted that new blawgers are starting to write stuff that mirrors stuff he had already written and bowed out with this closing message:

So long and thanks for all the fish.

(Witnesses can attest to that song being STUCK in my head for over a week now. I’ve found myself singing it at completely random times since I read the post.)

When I first read that final post, I was slow in catching on to the finality in its tone. I should have noticed when days passed without a new Simple Justice post (since he averaged over 2 a day every day for five freakin years), but other folks out in the blogosphere had to clue me in.

Anyhow, I just wanted to point out how great his blog was and how much it has affected my own aspirations for this one. I know I can’t match his pace, and I can only hope that I can match his integrity and fearlessness in sharing my own thoughts on the interwebs.

I know I’m not alone in hoping that he can’t resist getting back into it. Hell, maybe he’s just taking a break to give readers a chance to catch up. Regardless, his words remain out there, and I would highly recommend them to anyone interested in justice, criminal law, blawging, or scathing curmudgeonly badassness.

Leave a Reply

